Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:20 a.m. - 2003-12-15
some ramblings captured in word before work interrupted
I'm all full of blahblahblah. I feel like I want to write and yet, there's nothing of severe interest to write. I start writing and then get bored with it and click off somewhere else hoping to find something to captivate my interest long enough to keep me occupied until something comes along to keep me busy. So far it's been a futile effort.

It's so bad I think I'm going to go to the mall for lunch. Just to get out of here. I'm hoping that the IBM tech that's supposedly helping me out with the V8 install of a client calls with some stupendous find so that I can get that up and running and off of my plate. Once that is up and running and the general connectivity tests are done then maybe the Wang project will chill the heck out for a little while. I'm not even going there though� I was pissed enough about that last week so this week I am content to let the world move on around me and leave me oblivious as to what's going on with that project until someone deems that it's necessary for me to know. Bitter? Yes. I'll get over it. At least I can recognize that it's a blessing in disguise!

So we caught Saddam� supposedly. I'm not sold. I'm waiting for the DNA tests to come back and then, maybe I'll think about being happy for the Iraqi people who suffered at his hand. It's another case of "it doesn't affect me personally" though so who knows. I will be happy that there's one less crazy dictator out there trying to take over the world but then again, I suppose the most crazy one of those currently is our own illustrious President so� who are we to talk? Heh heh.

The media amuses me. They play up the US to be all loved and appreciated over in Iraq for the majority but I think, by reading some of these articles, that the image couldn't be further from the truth. The Iraqis are blaming the US for a lot of things right now and I can't say that I blame them on some of it. We're in there cutting off the supplies of oil and petrol products to them and it's driving their prices up. If one of them speaks out about their dislike of the American army being there, they could be shot right there in public if they seem threatening to the US troops. One particular quote was interesting to me, in regards to Hussein "at least he'd have you killed in private. The Americans will shoot you in the street if you get too close." As much as I'd probably like to believe this isn't true, I believe it to the very last word. I suppose there's some dignity to being killed in private as opposed to being shot in the street and having your innards all over the place.

Now, I'm not, by any means, saying that the way we are treating people over there isn't fair� after all, I'm a big proponent on "it's war and war isn't supposed to be fair". I do think however that for a group of people that is trying to help out another group of people, we seem to be going about it in a very hostile sort of way. I think some of it is merited. I've never been in a war but I can imagine that seemingly random car bombings and sniper attacks killing your compadres will indeed put you on edge and make you angry with the people around you in general that you are supposed to be trying to protect. I am guessing that many of the civilians that are being killed (which our news never talks about unless it's a fair number) are killed on accident because of a misunderstanding. I also think though that the Iraqi people are responsible for some of the "accidental" killings. Those people that run the guard posts, or attempt to; those who yell angrily and throw things at the troops to express themselves. That's nearly a certain recipe to get yourself shot at in general if not killed. Of course, it's the same thing American people would do. I suppose it's human nature to be all "in your face" when something really really pisses you off.

My feelings about this whole thing are mixed in general in case that's not evident. Probably because it doesn't directly affect my everyday life I could really care very little about it in general but on a human level I do care somewhat about what all is going on. It's inconsequential and out of my head now� so on with the show.

Staring at the screen. Yeah. This is productive. I did a lot of wrapping yesterday and more shopping. I'm sick of shopping now. Thankfully I only have a few more things left to do for Christmas at my gram's. Speaking of which, I need to call my gram still. I meant to do that yesterday. And I was supposed to call Louie back too to find out how he did on bowling. Damn.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!