Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 a.m. - 2003-07-30
I should invest in strong soap boxes... I seem to like them a lot.
I want this dress!

And someday I want to wear it and look REALLY good in it. I don't ever expect to be as goregous as this woman but damn I like that dress! Maybe I'll just take the dress AND her ;) (*waiting for the laughs I know will be there*)

I was actually surprised that Frederick's had dresses. I suppose, like the majority of people, I just lump the "Frekericks" name in with the great lingerie sellers of the world but they have some really nice dresses.... granted it's ALL supermodel types wearing them in the ads and none of the retail stores EVER carry the dresses so it's sort of a hit or miss game to get the right size and if you like the color...

I'm multi-windowing like crazy this morning. I have this one, one with mail open and another with an article I was reading. I've decided that I really enjoy the way some people write and related certain things to "scientific" thoeries and facts.

For example:

"Most people have some level of interest in sex. Even former President Jimmy Carter acknowledged the lust in his heart. And, as the Rev. Jimmy Swaggart and the scores of abusing priests illustrate, those who purport to be above these human weaknesses are not immune.

Males (of all species) have more testosterone-linked characteristics � including a strong sex drive. Alpha males seem particularly able to dominate and create more mating opportunities for themselves. It�s a combination of biology and personality features that determine their success. "

I think I like this because instead of being accusatory and in-your-face about the supposed "wrong" of acting sexually, it puts it in a more clinical type light and tries to explain that "hey, we all have this problem once in a while". Of course, learning to control said impulses is always an issue but again it widely depends on how culture breeds the conception of certain actions.

The passages were from an article about the Kobe Bryant case. It's actually a pretty good article. Find it here

So I'm having one of those intellectual reading sort of days again... scouring the likes of MSNBC.com like it's going out of style. I am baffled though by a combination of two things. A story I heard on the radio on the way in and a headline that was running on MSNBC when I logged into that this morning.

You'd have to be living under a rock to not know about all of the security measures put in place since 9/11. One of which was adding air marshalls to the planes to allegedly make people feel safer. (Unless you read the article detailing that after they put all these guys on the planes they had to suspend more than half of them when background checks revealed questionable content in their permanent records... you just HAVE to love the government... really you do.) So this morning on the radio they reported that the security team, or whoever the hell is trying to keep up with this crap, has released a warning saying that al-qaida groups in the US are planning terrorist attacks similar to 9/11 where they will use common tourist items like cameras to hide weapons and get onto planes and at some point take over the plane and fly them into a building. You know how this story goes...

Well, I get to work and there on MSNBC's front page is this "Amid warnings, air marshalls pulled from key flights". So let me get this straight here... More warnings that this stuff could happen again soon. Less air marshalls on KEY flights (those would be international and cross-country flights). Yeah, makes TOTAL sense to me. *rolls her eyes* They're saying it's a cost cutting measure but personally, even though I'd sort of hate the effect on my checkbook, I'd rather have them ON there than not on there! Aren't we already paying for some of this crap already with the 9/11 fees they're adding to airfare? What the hell is the deal with this?

ANYWAY... soap box kicked away... that one just irked me. How stupid can this country be?

I have decided, thusly, that Saddam, Osama, and Bush are shacked up somewhere planning the take-over of the entire world. Though, I hardly doubt that the likes of Saddam and Osama would keep company with the likes of our beloved president who doesn't seem to have even a wet noodle in his head for a brain! Not even a grain of couscous! (If you respect GW, do NOT, I repeat, do not buy the day-to-day calendar with his quotes on it... it will only disappoint you by demonstrating the innate ability this man has to stick his foot in his mouth and say absolutely ludricrous things over and over and over again for 365 lovely days!)

Alright.. work interrupts and this is already my second entry of the day so... off I go to mutter in peace about the "pleasures" of working here sometimes. :)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!