Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:21 p.m. - 2002-10-03
somewhat sad...
i suppose to some it will seem like a really lame thing to be sad about but... i'm sad that this year i'm not overly excited for halloween like i usually am. of course, this year there's no trick-or-treaters to come banging on my door in their adorable little costumes (including the kinds you KNOW are too old but put some good effort into their costumes... like the guys that showed up last year on my door dressed in drag... cripes that was hilarious... one was so embarassed!), i don't really have a place to deck out in full halloween regalia... i do admit that this mood half comes from the smile that was put on my face when i noticed that someone else in our building has decked out their balcony in halloween glory, it also comes from reading the articles on msnbc.com (because i'm bored at work for once again!) and what really set me off for some reason is seeing a DVD advertisement for "It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!"

If you haven't seen that and you're still "young" (aka cartoon tolerant and imaginative... not stuffy and all adult like permanently) I suggest you try to find it on TV in the upcoming season or rent it. I like the story... It's cute... and that made me think of the Garfield halloween special which, when I think about it, still cracks me up because of some of the comedy in it...

those were the days... when life was simple and i was surrounded by people who loved holidays. sometimes i wish He was a little more excited by such things... sometimes it brings me down because "stupid" stuff like holidays and even fun ones like halloween are really exciting for me.

One saving grace... I'll be in DC this year for halloween and they're supposedly having a halloween party so i should probably absorb myself in making His costume and getting ready for that. we're not having a big shindig this year with Society for halloween and i don't know if we'll even be able to attend the one at SE with His work schedule but hey... that's alright, at least i'll be out and in the action on halloween... i'll miss the kids though... last year, the kids definately made it worth it.

i get this holiday syndrome from my mom. once upon a time she'd bedeck the house with decorations... her and my uncle both. it must be genetic... but she hasn't been quite the same since she and my dad broke up in 2000 and since i moved a bit further across the state... sometimes i wish she could go back to being the woman she was when they were together... at least she seemed to be having fun more often! (for the record, she's still better off without him)

i think i have too much time on my hands to be sitting here thinking about such things but hey... i guess it's my nostalgia time. it's been one year now that i've lived in my apartment. scary how time goes by so quickly...

ahh well... i asked my boss if i could be sick or 'personal'... he told me to be sick... hehe... everyone needs a boss like mine

*mockcough mockcough*

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!