Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:23 a.m. - 2003-09-25
Work rant (WARNING!! contains many expletives)
so i get to work this morning and what's just about the first thing that happens? i start crying.

yeah. well, i hate it when i do this at work but this place is just so goddamned frustrating sometimes that i just lose my composure and cry like a moron. thankfully it's usually only in front of Don and he's got three girls so i'm sure he's used to it and he KNOWS how frustrated i am and he TRIES to make me feel better but like i told him... we've been through this a million times, there's nothing different here than from the last 80 zillion times this has happened it's not OUR fault replication breaks, it's not DB2! it's the infrastructure and it's inflexibility. but doesn't anyone else BESIDES Don listen? No! of course not! assholes.

well, come to find out the business finally complained about how when we have to fail the web over to JAX we have this lock/unlock issue with participants so NOW finally SOMEONE OTHER than the DBA group is listening.. namely Barry. thank the lords in all the skies. maybe NOW something will get done. i swear to you i was so friggen close to just throwing in the damn towel and i even said "look! they want to move this shit to Oracle? let them! just fire me and let them because no one f'ing listens to me anyway so what's the gd point?!"

i think Don panics every time i do this but today was the first day i ever said it and actually felt like i meant it. i hate not wanting to come to work in the morning. i hate the panic every time the pager goes off or my cell phone rings late at night. i hate the people around this place who insist on doing things that is not conducive to the way this company is supposed to do business. i hate people who don't do things for the company or their team but are more interested in making themselves look good instead of their team and the company as a whole. i hate that development around here moves faster than testing and that when the shit hits the fan and something doesn't work... OF COURSE IT'S THE DATABASE.

WELL FUCK THEM ALL! that's what i say!

-I- take the time to test all MY changes. -I- take the time to research thoroughly and document any bugs or functionality changes in all MY changes. -I- don't push things in even when we're not ready to do them. -I- do MY job and let everyone else go about their business so why don't they all just go to hell and leave me the f alone to do my job and stop telling me how my database works because -I'M- the one with the training and experience with this stuff and THEY are not.

and of course i'm still the only one who really knows how any of this stuff really works from start to finish so i'm still the one who has to manage 51 databases all on my own while the Oracle guys split up their stuff and each have a specialization. some of they guys can do the regular stuff with the databases like adding space and such and Ken and Alan can both do design now (Alan sort of can, he does the RSQ stuff for me now thank goodness... but there's another rant in there...) Amar, thankfully, knows the ins and outs of his bastard child "multi-master DB2 replication" which is apparently visciously jealous of Amar's new vaccuum... most people won't get this joke, it's an inside joke but suffice it to say that since Amar bought his new vacuum and we've been picking on him about him spending too much time with it replication has just been pissed off! we keep telling him he needs to sell the vacuum. *sighs and smirks a little*

you know... sometimes i should just sit here and air all my work greivances here because although i know that the majority of my trusty readers know little about what i do or even care i still feel somewhat better having bitched at SOMETHING and knowing that someone will at least start to read it (and probably finish for entertainment factor of seeing me swear so much) and it gets all the thoughts out of my head. today it was easy to do that because Don had to leave for a meeting and so here i sit on my own writing. it would be nice if i had this kind of time to do this every morning.

wow... a light... replication finished conflicting with itself and i'm grabbing another set of data for which it can argue with itself over. maybe we'll be able to pull this stupid piece of shit out of the bucket after all.

plus T0ny B interrupted my thought process.. that man can TALK... and i am definately antisocial this morning.

i am going to fill my water bottle and suck down a few excedrine.

no morning deserves to be this painful....

at least not this kind of pain!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!