Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 p.m. - 2005-04-21
CAUTION: Falling thought particles!
I'm having this weird kind of day in my head. I'm not getting a lot of work done because I'm restless as all hell and I even found myself banner trolling on D-land today... I haven't done that in eons.

Now, basically, I'm sitting here waiting for Ken to get back from the forever long change control meeting to go to lunch. Likely... I'll go without him.

But anyway, back to where I am today. I remember this feeling in my head. It's like when I was going through one of my bigger learning spurts and suddenly everything seemed interesting... or perhaps even moreso, it's one of those philosophical moods that haven't struck in a while and made me feel the need to write out all those things in my head, whether they make sense to someone else or not.

And, too, it feels like I'm on the edge of this giant moment of clarity... except I'm not clear on what it would be about....

So yeah. No one else understands, probably, but I get it and I think it's an interesting feeling.

Perhaps maybe it's as simple as... *gasp* I just feel like writing!

A lot of different kinds of things going on in the world right now. There's the new pope. New bankrupcy laws. The president seems to have taken on a low profile role until his approval rating hikes up again (I, personally, am hoping it continues to tank). Just some interesting topics of discussion.

The pope thing is enthralling to me. Now watching the fall out of all the different opinions around the globe. You've got the english tabloid running headlines like "Papa Ratzi" and "Pope Rotweiller" and all kinds of other anti-nazi propganda which is, of course, pissing off the Germans. The Germans have been particularly bitchy about the whole association with the Nazi's since Hilter took a nose dive. I can understand why... it seems silly of people to classify ALL Germans as Nazi's (or former Nazi's or anything relating to that time period) simply because they originate from the same country as the mad genius himself. I'd probably be irritated too.

I'm not Catholic (as most of anyone who reads this well knows... I'm still waiting to be struck dead while walking into a church some day) so I don't really care about the whole thing on any particularly deep level... in fact, my interest in it is purely at a selfish level... "How much is this guy going to try and screw up my life by being too conservative or too orthodox?" Religion is the dope of the masses... it makes lemmings though I can understand how some people find comfort in being "lambs of God"... those lambs too are on their way to the slaughter though... it's just a different variety. They don't tell you that in church though... why would they? You bring money to them every week... ahhh big business!

Man, I sound jaded today. If random people read my journal today I just might tick someone off with that. Not my intention... things are just falling from my head... ooh... good title... *goes to fill in the title field*

So anyway... I'm waiting to see what this new pope does. One of the questions I've been asking myself lately though is "I wonder if it's like being the last kid picked for a kick ball game to know that you're the 'interim pope' and not someone important like Pope John Paul and his looooong reign?" I mean this guy is 78. SEVENTY-EIGHT, people!! I suppose, in this case, "interim" is truly meaningful... it's just kind of sick and twisted that people are already talking about his ailing health and all that crap and the man just took the office! What possesses one so much that he >needs< to be pope before he dies no matter what the cost? I wonder if the Vatican aides are anything like our presidential cabinets and stuff... carefully puppeting it's representatives to accomplish it's political agenda? Another interesting question...

And how, exactly, is it that the conclave can not be classified as a bunch of lunatics? In so many of the articles I've read it talks about those cardinals being the ones that have the "closest relationships with God" and that "God speaks to them about the one that is closest to him that should be elected as the next pope". So... let me get this straight... The 115 or so old guys have conversations with themselves and "hear voices" and we don't think they're cracked? Hell, if my grandfather starts "talking to God" (highly unlikely... my grandfather would likely just tell him off anyway) I'd be looking for a home to place him in because I'd think he's lost his marbles! Yet somehow alllll the catholics in this world depend on these 115 or so cardinals to have their crazy little delerium moments hearing voices and eventually select the man "closest to God" to serve as Pope for the world....

Yeah....

No...

I just don't get it. Maybe we should use this method to choose our next president... perhaps we'd have better luck with that than with the electoral college.

Hey everyone.. big shocking news... hot dogs (the by-product product of the world) may cause pancreatic cancer! Somehow I'm sure you're all just as "shocked" as I was.... but I like hot dogs, so as long as I'm not eating the 40 grams or more a day of them, I shall continue to eat them. I figure at this rate, I've been breathing for just over 29 years so, likely, if I'm going to get cancer, I've already inhaled enough crap to give it to me or eaten enough crap too... such is the modern way.

Holy cripes... not to dwell on the pope issue but the man has an email! Have you ever seen Bruce Almighty? I'm betting now, with my new found knowledge that Pope John Paul had an email address too, that they made that movie based on the emails that the pope gets. heh heh.... the Pope is "plugged in" I find this amusing.

The war... remember that war that's going on over in Iraq? The one that's killing more and more of our people everyday? I just read a Washington Post article that was apparently written by one of the tagalong reporters. It was fascinating, gorey and sad all at the same time. Americans are so jaded. Most can't ever conceive of the horrors that are real over there. Many think, still even after 9/11, that those kinds of things could never happen here.

Won't they all be surprised someday when they do?

And how many of us will be dead because of the cockiness and laziness that we are learning and actively teaching to our young people?

I hope I"m either dead already or one of the first to go if war ever hits us like it hits those countries every day. If the bullets and bombs don't kill me the shock at the utter stupidity of people in this country most certainly will. It would be less frustrating to be shot I think.

Alright... dark thought to end it on and that's not on purpose but it's definately time to go home... about 12 minutes of email reading and packing up to do and then... I'm outta here.

Anyway... it was fun to write.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!