Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:40 a.m. - 2005-03-31
thoughts from yesterday's \"door\" incident and other things
i don't think that i've mentioned the fact that i discovered another of my family members is fairly kinky. it amuses the hell out of me. today, the email was signed "Your erotic, not in jail, don't have a kid cousin" *chuckles* how to identify within the typical hick family as an unique entity. that's just funny. (yes, i'm a hick... i grew up in the "sticks" but hardly match the stereotype)

yesterday i was thinking about how people just like to bitch. it's really rather annoying. yesterday on the way into the office i experienced one such occassion that made me just want to laugh right at the lady. we pass a guard console right as we walk in the revolving door and we have to scan our ID cards to open the next door... however, right next to the door, clearly displaye for ALL to see right above the magnetic card reader is a sign that says "Employees must show ID to Security".

so this lady in front of me holds her purse (more like a freakin' suitcase) up to the reader and, of course, it detects the little magnetized card in her purse and the door starts to swing open. i, per usual, just show my badge to the security person standing RIGHT NEXT to the door and she smiles and thanks me and then says to the woman about to enter, "I need to see your badge please". The lady answers huffily, "You need to SEE it?" i'm thinking... yeah well, that what the woman asked you and clearly what the sign in front of your nose says. She reaches in the top of her suitcase/miniature luggage and right off the top, with no effort she lifts it out and shoves it towards the girl rudely (all the time blocking the door so i can't get in). The woman thanks her and the wench bustles through the door muttering under her breath "this is just ridiculous...".

i had this smirk on my face behind her because i was just so amused that it was a MAJOR inconvenience for her to have to reach in and pull her ID from the top of her bag to show the woman standing by the door. somehow or another i figure this same woman would be the first one pitching a fit about how she feels so threatened if she were to find out that some crazy nutjob who had stolen another employee's ID came strolling in because security didn't check the badge and proceeded to kill someone. these people amuse me. she wasted all that energy being pissy for nothing.

not that i'm completely guilt free of said behavior... i've done it. i've gotten yelled at for it and now... now i get it. waste of energy. misses the point of the whole procedure by bitching about it and thinking it's just a major inconvenience to you, personally, and not thinking about the greater good in the whole mess.

i think i'm on a kicker this morning because i'm working on my communications task force stuff. yes, my friends, i've been "lucky enough" to have gotten volunteered to be on a task force with my all-time favorite *coughcoughhackcoughcough* manager (not my own, another manager that i usually always conflict with) running the group. so far our superficial niceness is working out. he's oddly too nice to me which just makes me suspicious. i will not be lulled into some kind of false idea that he wants to be my friend or some such nonsense. we're not doing business when we're in the task force meetings together... we'll see what it's like next time he comes down to argue about how i'm suggesting the database layout SHOULD look!

five more days and the familial house will be sold (halelujiah!) and then perhaps my mom and my uncle can go back to their more occassion spats rather than these stupid petty arguments and miniature wars that are inevitably ALWAYS started by my mother flying needlessly off the handle about the stupidest stuff ever. and my uncle... the eternal peacemaker constantly laying down and apologizing to her like it's always his fault. yeah, well, i read them the riot act the other day. my mom was simply being unreasonable... honestly, i'd even call her a bitch in that moment because she was being spiteful and needlessly vindictive and then here comes my uncle apologizing for, gods forbid, having a life and not getting to something right away. i was ripped and so, i told them so.

customary to the way these things work, my mom has not made mention of it to me AT ALL since the email went out except to BCC me in an email she sent to my uncle to somewhat apologize for being unreasonable and to say that i had made valid points in my email. i just talked to her again just now as she's on her way to the house this morning... she grated on me... i can't remember why because i'm already past it. i don't let her get to me anymore. when she starts i usually (sometimes politely, sometimes not so when she deserves it) stick it to her and tell her to cut the crap and then move on.

well... there goes issue #1 in today's adventure...looks like i need to finish this up, deal with prod and start my fixing mission.

wheee!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!