Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:08 p.m. - 2003-12-29
My amusement for the day
okay, this was amusing me way too much so, i'll share:

borborygmus � bor-buh-RIG-mus � noun

: intestinal rumbling caused by moving gas

Example sentence:

Jim, having skipped breakfast, was beset by borborygmus long before noon, and was mighty grateful for the pile of holiday treats next to the coffee machine.

Did you know?

Unless you're a gastroenterologist, chances are you never knew there was a name for those loud gurglings your stomach sometimes makes. And looking at the word itself, you might think it's just some crazy coinage invented recently by someone who thought the word matched the rumbling sound. But actually, "borborygmus" has been part of English for at least 240 years; its earliest known use dates from 1762. We picked it up from New Latin, but it traces to the Greek verb "borboryzein," which means "to rumble."

They have words for EVERYTHING!

heh heh heh

hehe... it's still cracking me up. Sammer will love this one! ;)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!