Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 a.m. - 2003-12-11
Christmas and other things
I just realized this morning that it's December 11th and I've not even taken my Christmas cards out of the closet... yeah, another year without sending Christmas cards. Oy! How bad am I?

But I'll have to take them out and send some soon. Perhaps on Sunday for those folks who don't have computers. Like my Gram and Jamie and people I don't see or talk to online much like Sammer's parents (and sister and little Dylan :) ). Need to send cards. There I go filling up my Sunday!

Also, December 11th, and no Christmas tree in my house! *gasp* Thankfully that should be rememdied tonight if we don't spend TOO much time finishing up with our shopping.. or my shopping at least, He says that He'll be shopping last minute probably.

Soooo much time just flying by. Where does it all go?

Work is slow this week. As expected. I would be having more to do if I could get any of the installs to work. I'm a geek. I confess that I am excited about getting my new servers and being able to test and implement the new database software we have. *hangs her hand in shame* Hi, my name is Tara and I'm addicted to technology like little kids are addicted to toys and candy.

So perhaps in some circles I'm a freak for feeling like I'm dying to test out the new replication, or the new alter tablespace features? Perhaps people think I'm speaking in a foreign language when I talk about how they changed how the database uses Quiesce and standby status. But somewhere... here at work at least, people think I'm strange still but at least they're excited too. heh heh... sorry girls, but when we get a boy someday, I think he'll have to be techie like me and Daddy because non-techies need to be outnumbered ;)

You know... I have all the time in the world to write right now, and I just don't feel like it. I'm not feeling anti-social or anything, there's just not a whole lot to write about currently.

Oh, well hold on a second, I lied just a little. We went to see the Transiberian Orchestra on Sunday. THAT WAS FUN! It was a good show. The guitars were a little on the load side, I'd have appreciated hearing more of the string section they had assembled up there. The light show was cool and the lasers were neat. Pyrotechnics seem wasted but the stupid teenagers next to me enjoyed them so I suppose I'm just not a pyrotechnic type person... waste of flame I say!

Gotta go for now... perhaps more later.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!