Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 a.m. - 2003-11-28
Post Turkey Day Entry
On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the highest:

Motivation: 2

That's right folks. Here I am looking at the cases that were assigned for Monday (I have to pick one out of two, both are 9-10 pages a piece) and I don't have any interest in doing either of them. I feel strangely moved to work on my 20-page paper instead but I have a feeling if I started that the motivation for that would probably slide right off the charts too. Ahh well, forcing myself to do work isn't all that new so I'll read both the studies and see which one I think I can do well on. I'm not even sure how he wants it done so I'm winging it. I'll probably do it two ways, one written out and then I'll throw together 6 slides as well. That way I figure I'll have covered at least the two most probable methods.

On a side note, (see I'm even distracted from being distracted) garlic butter ritz: 10+! Yummt damn things these are! Especially with swiss or meunster cheese! YUMMY!

Well, I can already see that this is going to be a productive journal entry.

Yesterday came off very well. For a last minute change I don't think we could have expected a better day if we had planned on doing dinner here the entire time. There were a few times when His mom got upset because she was supposed to have us all at her house but overall, we kept her pretty occupied and laughing most of the night.

I talked to His dad a few times and he said some things to me that didn't really surprise me about how His mom is handling the situation and I just tried to reassure him that things will work out. His dad is more "okay" with how things have turned out than His mom is, but you can tell that it bothers him because he talks about it a lot and the conversations keep coming back around to the house or the people who are involved in helping them out.

It sounds as though they've been getting offers for a lot of support from different areas though, which is nice to see. It doesn't surprise me there either because they're both so involved in the community as a whole. I suppose we will have to wait and see how things progress as the repairs begin and things start to resume a normal pace for them again. They're getting a 3 bedroom house-trailer next Friday so they won't have to live in a hotel anymore and will have all the comforts of home, just outside their home. I wonder if that will be easier or harder on her...

Such a whacked out holiday season. His parent's have a house fire. One of my cousins gets sick and goes to the hospital only to find out that on top of whatever flu or something he had that he has cancer that has already spread from his lungs to his aorta or some part of his heart. I should mark the year in my head and see if tragedy befalls me or those that I love around me once every 8 to 9 years (in December of 1994 my Mem had congestive heart failure and a stroke in early December which lead up to her passing away on my birthday in 1995.)

Gosh how gloomy it all seems.

But honestly. I woke up this morning with a light heart and thoughts of decorating for critmas. A part of me feels like I'm insane to already be thinking of such things but honestly, traditionall this IS the first day of the holiday season :) I should make a shopping list to make sure that I don't miss anyone while I'm finishing up my shopping. I've done a lot already and I consider myself to be nearly done based on the fact that I don't feel I'll need to wander from store to store in the mall trying to figure out what to get someone for critmas!

I should shower though and go up to the office because I know they have at least one package for me. I've been watching my package tracking to see when things are getting here. Convenient that I'll actually be home to get at least one of them provided my buzzer works.

Ahh well, off I go to start my day, my case study, and my paper (toss in a little D when I get bored and it sounds like a full day!) Oh, and laundry and some sewing/mending... that way when Sunday rolls around I can spend the day working on the case study and my paper that I didn't finish or get to today ;) heh heh.

toodles for now! I hope everyone had a good Turkey Day!

Oh, and Sammer, I hope you're not already hallucinating and thinking that you see Elvis on every street corner in TN... although, I suppose there are a fair amount of impersonators down there so who knows... if Elvis really isn't dead, perhaps that's the best place for him to hide out ;)

(By the way, I believe that he really is dead.)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!