Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:56 a.m. - 2003-08-23
work work work
So yes, my fine friends! Here it is nearly 3 in the morning and I'm writing!

You all know what that means by now right? Tara's at WORK! Yay release weekends! *tosses a multitude of sarcasm flags about*

But right now, I'm bored and frustrated with a script that is seeming to take forever to run and I'll be pissed if I have to kill the script and rescript for it a second time to complete it. It's been running for quite some time now. I'm nervous but there's a good number of rows for it to update so... I'm attempting to be patient which is REALLY difficult at 3 in the morning people. REALLY difficult!

And worst yet, there's not a whole lot going on in my head besides being here and this annoying script. Otherwise maybe I'd be writing about something pertinent rather than babbling about not having anything of value to babble at my journal. Oh well...

I'll have a Sammer moment:

So I ran release scripts this morning for another database and I SPECIFICALLY told them to test this one thing we had had a problem with in test. Do they test it? Apparently not because I go home at 10 and around 10:30 or 11 I get a stupid call saying it's not working! I HAVE TO fix it. So I went off about how I specifically said that that should have been tested this morning and I get the same old song and dance. Pardon my french here but they really need to fuck off and start doing what they are supposed to be doing which is TEST their applications when changes are made. Not sit on their asses until OOPS! something breaks and they have to call me to rescue them. What a pain. We need better test plans around this place!

That's happened with SSO a few times (that's what I'm working on currently) but since it's the centerpiece application that wasn't tolerated very long before they shifted testing responsibility onto another set of folks. Most of the SSO stuff gets tested pretty thoroughly... though there's always something they miss. Welcome to the wonderful world of varied data and technology!

So yeah...

That was my "Sammer moment".

Now I think I'll go back to staring at my performance monitors praying for this damn script to roll the hell over and move on so I can finish this stuff and get out of here at a reasonable hour.

I hope you all are sleeping sweet and having good dreams. I'll be doing that in a few hours I hope!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!