Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:09 a.m. - 2003-07-09
Not too much going on really...
Blah! I don't really feel like writing today but there's not a whole lot going on so I have to look busy SOMEHOW!

The last two days have been hell though. One of my servers was acting all freakish and possessed-like and it was down a half day on Monday and again yesterday. We finally discovered yesterday just before lunch that there was a bad disk causing the issues so at least we were able to fix that and get everyone going again before 1:30ish. You never know how antsy and irritable clients are until they can't get to your test systems. It always makes me nervous when that server is down because if the client can't test... we could potentially lose the client which would suck majorly. I sort of pride myself in making sure the boxes are up as much as possible. Such is the control freak and work-perfectionist in me.

So I got accepted into the graduate certificate program I wanted to do. I'm psyched about that. I have to call this woman though and have a discussion with her about what classes I should take this fall. I'm going to ace the database class... it sounds totally lame to me, but then again that's probably because I'm a DB2 DBA huh? I need to find out if I HAVE TO take the prerequisite course, which the description basically makes it sound like it's "Computers for Dummies the Advanced Version" *rolls her eyes* I know how to turn my computer on, I know what it's capable of (and even those things which it likes to do just to piss me off) and I really don't want to waste my time taking that class but, if they say I have to take it, i'm going to ask if I can take that class and a second one that lists that class as a prereq at the same time so I can save my sanity. I like easy A's but there's a difference between a challenge and sleeping through the semester...

I need new tires on my car. This sucks. I've been putting it off which makes me antsy but I'm trying to save up and find a place that'll put good tires on for relatively cheap. I don't want to put crap tires on there because it IS a sports car and it NEEDS performance tires but man some places want to charge you all outdoors for this stuff! I did manage to find a place that quoted me $500 though, which is an excellent price. I'm going to call a place up by where I grew up though and see what they have for prices. They've done good by me before and I need to get up there to do the divorce papers too so, why not call and see?

Ahh well, things to do, people to call. Plus I just blanked right out so... I guess I'm done for now!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!