Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:33 a.m. - 2003-07-01
The Patterns of Life (the short version apparently)
You know what sucks? Waking up two days in a row in the shower... yes folks, you heard me right, IN the shower... and then, while driving to work, realizing that somewhere along the way you've fallen into the patterns of adulthood without even realizing it. Oh yeah! Bleh!

Every weekday morning my alarm goes off at 5:45ish (the clocks are fast in the bedroom) and I roll out of bed to shut it off and trudge to the bathroom. This has become such a pattern that apparently I can do this without truly waking myself up... very efficient. I also somehow manage to go to the potty, take my pills and brush my teeth before getting into the shower at which point the water hits me, usually too hot for my skin's liking at that point, and abruptly wakes me up. I guess that could qualify for maximizing my downtime in some ways... ahh well...

I've been sleeping really good lately but not hardly enough for my brain's liking. I think it's the weather and the fact that we have the AC on now which keeps it at a nice cool temperature without it being too dry in the apartment. Either way, it's nice.

But anyway, back to the whole adulthood thing... patterns. Get up, showered and dressed, drive to work, "work" for 8 hours or more, run errands, go to the gym, run errands, go home, veg or clean or whatever needs to be done, read, go to bed. Repeat. Welcome to my life on the weekdays, well, at least most of the time. Is that not a pattern indicative of middle class working folks or what? Heh heh... If I ever get canned from here and can't find another DBA job... I'm going to do something wrecklessly and random for my next career (yeah right...).

My boss is on vacation this week and so are a whole lot of other people so life is quite slow around here this week. It's nice except I get bored. I forgot my laptop today so I can't even work on my essays... bah!

Having had work interrupt for a significant amount of time I forgot what I was going to write about. I suppose I have a million and one things rattling around in my head that I -could- be writing about but some of those are simply too time consuming for work and I'll be mentally exhausted and somehow I know if I do that to myself something bad will happen here at work and I'll be brain-fried.

OH! Here's a gripe! Work has shut down my proxy access so no more AIM at work currently which REALLY sucks. I suppose it could be worse though as Amar can't even get his personal email because he uses hotmail! I can still get to my yahoo mail... messenger doesn't work either so I'm relatively closed off from the world, which SUCKS. Though I suppose it affords me the time to write here instead of babbling with people real time. Sucks for those people who don't really know my email address though and therefore can't really talk to me at all... I'll have to start tracking down and sending out emails!

Well, I suppose I'm going to trundle on for now. Looking forward to the long weekend... sleeping sounds good... and since He has to work on Saturday and Andrea won't be down until later, I am going to try to force myself to nap!

Off to "work" I go!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!