Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:57 a.m. - 2003-05-16
Another little life coming to this world
My best friend's little sister is pregnant.

This piece of information rocked my world a little. Gave me cramps. Made me sad. Shocked me. And all at once, didn't shock me at all.

I've known her since she was 2. Sammer and I have been friends for that long... C is 18 years old. A high school senior. In the band. Good grades. And though for the most part a "good girl", she also has what I have to call the family rebellious streak in her.

I wouldn't call her pregnancy "an act of rebellion" though. She's a child... or woman, if you will... of the times and that's just the way life is carrying these kids now-a-days. She will always be a "kid" to me... I suppose that's just how it is with younger siblings.

Her parents are religious and want C to go speak with the pastor and his wife. I told Sammer I didn't like the idea. Of course that launched me into a mini-diatribe on my thoughts on organized religion and it's tendancy to focus on negativity of such situations and blah blah. I suppose half that opinion comes from knowing the pastor and his wife... from back in the day when I used to be in youth group at their church.

I do wonder though if they've changed since their own daughter, the same age as C, also had a child last year so I hear...

But I'm mostly sad for C because she's a smart girl. Things will be harder for her now and I guess I've always feared that the girls would turn out to be "stay at home mom's" like their mom. I LOVE their mom, don't get me wrong. I wouldnt' change one thing about her because she's perfect the way she is but I think I'm preprogrammed to just want more from people than what mom2 (I'll call her that since I call her Mom all the time) chose for herself. And for the record... I have nothing against stay-at-home moms either for the most part because given good parenting skills, sometimes those children turn out the best.

I guess the father of C's baby isn't the best guy to have around either. Sammer hates him, which speaks volumes because she's a friendly person and usually gets along with most people. So it will probably be even more difficult for her as she probably won't be getting a whole lot of help from him along the way. I hope that doesn't prove to be the case.

I hope that she finds the opportunities for herself to go to school and get an education but I realize how difficult that will be for her. She will have to work to support her baby.

I think of my cousin and her daughter. My cousin once cried to me on the phone about how she had wished she had been more careful because she felt trapped in a life that she couldn't see a way around. She doesn't regret her baby girl, and in fact loves her to pieces (who wouldn't? she's an absolute doll... not that i'm biased or anything ;) ) but she wishes that she could get an education and get a better job and do better by the both of them. But she has a hard time staying on top. I suppose it's tough given the location where we grew up too. Historically speaking in my area, once you've had a baby, if you don't have an education already, it seems like the percentage of people who end up staying right in the same location and working at the local places is very very high. That's the case with a lot of people from my high school that had kids young.

It's not globally true though. It's a matter of breaking through your own mentality and making something work for you. And having the means to make it work or finding the means...

This makes me realize how happy I am that I never started having sex so early in my life. That I waited and that I've been obscenely careful and continue to be. Nothing is fool proof and I could have gotten pregnant along the way but I've been lucky.

*sighs* She'll be fine though. She has a family that loves her and supports her even if they think the situation is not ideal. I suppose that's what family is for. I'm glad she has them.

************************************************************

work is intruding again... I have to go...

toodles for now!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!