Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:50 p.m. - 2003-05-10
distance
Distance

partial extract from www.m-w.com:

2 a : separation in time b : the degree or amount of separation between two points, lines, surfaces, or objects c (1) : an extent of area or an advance along a route measured linearly (2) : an extent of space measured other than linearly d : an extent of advance from a beginning

3 : the quality or state of being distant : as a : spatial remoteness b : personal and especially emotional separation; also : RESERVE, COLDNESS c : DIFFERENCE, DISPARITY

Quite the varied definitions for a word so simple.

And so easy to detect.

Physical distance becomes relative when there is good quality personal and emotional contact. Physical location can even be ruled as insignifigant regardless of the miles in that situation. It's strange how that sometimes works. Though it doesn't happen always, there's usually at least one occassion upon which it does.

Personal and emotional distance. Something that is placed, like a series of walls between people sometimes. Sometimes a joint effort, sometimes a highly successful solo effort. Causes vary. Reasons vary.

Is it me? Or is it you? Why is it there? Is it just my indignation at being tested? Or is there something of the fear that may be felt that comes with changes? Is it something that has nothing to do with me? Is it all you? Is it all me? Why do we seem to be perpetuating the gap?

Sometimes distance becomes a matter of time and situation rather than a cause. I suppose either is valid. That doesn't mean that either is a good reason.

I'm cryptic this week. Cryptic keeps me from being angry I think. Cryptic keeps me from barreling out things I don't intend to really say, and also those things which I could say but never mean.

I am still irrational sometimes. Perhaps some view it as a character flaw...

I think it's there to keep me on my toes.

*pondering*

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!