Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:25 a.m. - 2003-05-05
fascinating "words of the day" from M-W
I should have done my morning routine before writing this morning... there were some fabulous and oddly applicable words of the day this weekend on m-w.com...

And here they are:

May 2:

kismet � KIZ-met

� noun, often capitalized

: fate

May 3:

pullulate � PUL-yuh-layt (the first syllable rhymes with "dull," not with "bull")

� verb

1 a : germinate, sprout b : to breed or produce freely

2 : swarm, teem

May 4:

paroxysm � PAIR-uk-sih-zum

� noun

1 : a fit, attack, or sudden increase or recurrence of symptoms (as of a disease) : convulsion

2 : a sudden violent emotion or action : outburst

May 5:

tempestuous � em-PESS-chuh-wus

� adjective

: of, relating to, or resembling a tempest : turbulent, stormy

Even more to think on....

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!