Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:58 a.m. - 2003-04-11
home
*looks around* I think I know this place... it looks like someplace where, in the past, I've spent a fair amount of time... oh wait! I know! It's the apartment where I live!!

Home today, but not because I have the "day off" (which is half a lie because essentially I do have the day time hours off) nor because I'm sick or playing hookey or any such thing but instead because I have to go into work at 11PM tonight! JOY!

Actually it's not so bad. I'm hoping that once this weekend is over.... and well, the June release is over, that life will return to it's normal cruising speed and stop back up and running over me at a speed which I can barely conceive of myself! But such is work and great things will come of my toils at work. At least for the company. Things will work... well, MY things will work even if the program itself ends up crapping out. At least then it's not my job on the line. ;)

Despite the hours I'm still happy there. It's sometimes difficult not to be because like most of my work environments I've made my relationship with the people I work most closely with sort of like family. We laugh and joke a lot, go crazy at nearly the same times and find ways to bring each other back to the ground when we think we're losing it. I wish all work environments were like that but just looking through our own company, I can tell you it's not.

It's funny.... I have the time to write this morning and the only thing I have to babble about is work really. That kind of suck... let me see if I can dig around for other topics...

Ahhh... the 19th! Finally Eric will make his way up to visit us and come to Social Eyes with us. I miss Eric. He's one person I miss a lot from Society. He's a great guy, a lot of fun and generally just such a happy person it's quite difficult not to like him. I'm glad we finally found time where both we and he had a weekend free enough to head down there together. It's the anniversary weekend for them too so it's bound to be teeming with people which always makes for great conversation even though play time isn't often easily gained because of the sheer number of people who gobble up the stations before anyone can squeeze in! At some point we should probably make dinner plans with him and Danielle again. I like Danielle too... an interesting sort :)

The following weekend lil' miss andrea comes to visit. It's graduation celebration weekend because she's done awesome and completed her program and tests and is officially "licensed". Woohoo! I'm proud of her. Miss gloom-and-"i'm always bored"-doom has pushed her way through the tough spots and proved to herself that she can get the job done when she puts her mind, and her heart, into it. And now, faced with the prospect of having to find employment... just realize that it's not different than trying to find school and a program that you will enjoy. Work, while not always enjoyable, is an extension of yourself and is what you make of it. If you put your mind to it, you can obtain a position you may see as unobtainable and you can excel in that position. Ask me. I've done it. You'll do great if you work for it and work hard.

And the following weekend Kristy comes up for HER interview. There's just so many good things going on lately! Forging out and taking a step that's scary and positive she managed to score an interview that for some reason she thought she'd never get. I think she's crazy, who wouldn't want her? I listen to her tell her stories about her work and the kids she works with and her relationships with them. I listen to the crap she sees and the stress and "trauma" from some of the situations she has to get into the middle of and then I see the bright, smiling girl in front of me, the one who seems, most of the time untouched by any of the things she sees in her work-life and wonder how she can sell herself short of deserving a better opportunity in which to grow personally and professionally. Girl, look at what you do everyday. And look at how you live your life, sorting the bad with the bad and the good with the good. Dealing with what needs to be dealt with but still living your life. You handle your job and yourself very well. I see no reason for them to NOT want to interview you. And I know you will do very well.

To both my girls. Nerves are natural. Use them as fuel to make a better presentation, to go farther and try things that you probably normally wouldn't think yourself good enough for. Although you may trip and fall flat on your face a few times before being able to climb higher, you'll find that the success is only further enhanced by any previous failures. No matter what, I'm positive you'll both do fabulous. Because though you both know that He and i expect nothing less, we all know that the two of you expect nothing less from the best from yourselves.

There has been a lot of good news floating around me lately. I just found out yesterday that two of my college friends are having a baby. I'm so excited for them. They just bought a house too so I'm glad that life is progressing in the direction it is for them. For a while they were scared they weren't going to be able to have a baby because she was having some problems. So I'm extra glad to hear that there's a baby due in December :) I wish them the best of luck and all the happiness they deserve! and it's bound to be a beautiful child since they are both beautiful people. :) I can't wait to see!!!

Leather Leadership is this weekend... which sucks because though I kept flip-flopping between not wanting and wanting to go, now I think it would have been interesting to attend. I'd have had to attend on my own but I suppose there are worse things. Perhaps next year if it's not all the way across the country we'll go... just another one to add to our list of events we want to go to at some point. There's a bunch of controversy brewing about the keynote speaker so, in a way, I'm sort of glad to not be able to go so that I can avoid the politics of people not agreeing to disagree. I suppose that was one of my biggest reasons for not wanting to go is because an event such as this can become a huge political issue internally to the scene folk... and I just hate the politics though we have to play the game sometimes anyway. Ahh well... work foiled it anyway.

Well, I think I shoudl get off my tush and get me to the gym. I should probably eat too. I never eat right when I'm all by myself... I always forget.

Toodles for now all!

*smooches*

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!