Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:34 a.m. - 2003-03-07
mid-day babble
So i broke down and bought a gold membership... short term or not, not being able to put and entry up when I wanted to was getting REALLY annoying. i think my best in the early mornings and don't want to be impeeded by some strange message telling me i'm not valuable enough to make my post... just annoying.. yep, annoying.

Sooooooo.. anyway!

Lots of rants and raves on my mind lately... probably due to the highly politcal conversations we've been having and my feelings on war and all kinds of stuff in general because those conversations spawn other interesting conversations where my opinions on things vary greatly from most people's.

Then there was a discussion about a spanish sentance. In which there was a word that was literally translated at the soles of the feet... so i brought up the fact that in some cultures women's beauty is evaluated by their ankles and feet. i was thinking Gor but the guys were thinking the Asian cultures... same difference in the end i suppose.

Here's a funny anecdote to share... (some people will get a bigger kick out of this than others if they remember the older entries and discussions about it in my old journal) So last week or so i was pondering why my thought process seemed to be less in the bathroom here at my current company than it was over at CSC... and gods help me if i'm lying but i actually went through the process of comparing the bathrooms, their locations and proximity to my desk and even the color schemes and officially decided that the reason i probably have less creative and clarifying thought processes here is because of the color scheme of the bathroom...

yes... i am indeed a strange, strange person...

There actually have been a lot of interesting conversations around here lately. i can't recall how most of them get started but i suppose that's not really important. Yesterday... (Oh i remember how this one started now...) i had a really long discussion with Laura about how it is for children growing up now-a-days and how they are often so badly treated and how parents just don't seem to give a shit anymore. She had been to the grocery store at lunch and a 9 or 10 year old boy had been standing at the exit selling candy bars. No parent in sight. This freaked her out and i was with her. No child that young should be left to his own devices outside any store or anywhere... but anway, we got into a discussion about jobs like Kristy's and how much the kids she sees on a daily basis go through. We, both Laura and i, agreed that neither of us would be good at the job... Laura said she'd just get depressed and resentful and me... i'd just want to kill people for being so goddamned stupid. Jansen's father used to work for a teen shelter in western Mass and basically ended up leaving because he got burnt out because of the number of kids that flashed through the place, sometimes more than once.

It really is sad that we don't provide for our children or our elderly... but as i don't have a solution either i don't know that i am any better than the people that take what little money there is for those kinds of programs away. I congratulate people who have the skin tough enough to deal with these things because it's a tough thing. The world is a better place because of them, and hopefully will continue moving in a good direction rather than one worse than the situation is for these kids now.

That is an incomplete thought process... please don't castigate me for not completing the whole logic of my thoughts because my attention was yanked away and i just lost my place.

It is difficult to write in the middle of the day when i have the goddamn mad drummer behind me making all kinds of racket that drives me absolutely BATTY! then there's the people on the other side of my cube wall with their stupid computers beeping constantly... i SWEAR they do it on purpose when i start complaining about it... this is where Tara inserts her tirade about hating people. i need to upload my new favorite Dilbert... yes... i think i'll do that... or at least try... will edit this to include the comic once i figure out how i can :) well... it would help if i had a soft copy of it.. which i don't so... oh well... you'll just have to trust me that it fits.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!