Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:13 a.m. - 2002-08-23
random brain dump #2
I wanted to write last night... obviously, I didn't. A few reasons really. I just forgot... I was too hungry. It was later than I wanted to be home and I think we just got to talking which is much more fun than parking myself in front of a computer to bang out my thoughts. Talking about them and getting stuff out and relaxing... MUCH better.

The work week from hell this week. Somehow I don't think the remaining weeks of this WANG projects are going to be much friendlier but hey, who knows. Jansen is not as optimistic as I am about getting things done but I know we can at least pump something out to these people by such and such a date, though those people are successfully pushing the date out themselves by not answering our questions.. BUT ANYWAY...

IBM here this week. That's kept me busy trying to learn more about replication, understand to the highest extent possible our implementation of it and why it has so many issues. Understanding how to make it at least behavior better or recover faster if things should tank again. It's been a pretty good week there even though I feel I've neglected them quite a bit because of my other responsibilities this week.

I've spent a LOT of time creating databases, moving things into production, occassionally running meetings (and missing one yesterday which Ron says I didn't miss since when he went to it, no one was there) and somehow becoming the epicenter of anything that goes on database wise... Is Don back yet? I hate it when he's away... all of a sudden it seems like every thinks I'm the next best thing or something! Crazy people!

But anyway... consequently I was a bad hostess and wasn't home to talk to and spend time with A while she was down. I don't know what her opinion of her time spent at our place is but I feel it was lacking mostly because I didn't get even the slightest chance to really talk to her in any "normal" or coherent way. I just have not been coherent any night I've gotten home this week. I apologize, A, for not being around more... that is the glamour of having a job like mine. Someday soon I'm sure we'll talk.

Speaking of which. I've decided I'm not a phone person any more. I used to spend hours talking to my friends on the phone when I was in high school. Now I hate it when it even rings and I hate it even more to have long conversations on the phone. I think that mostly has to do with fact that I've become enamored with speaking with people face to face... at least that way you can read them and you can tell when they are and when they are not talking shit or when they appear to be hiding something or appear to be irritated with something I've said and are not saying something. I still do a lot of communication through messengers I suppose... well, not as much as I used to but sometimes.. and then there's email which is just easier because some people's schedules and mine just don't match. But overall, face-to-face relations seem to save a lot of hassle and money in the end. Diatribe end.

I've removed some things from my life. I decided it was time to let go. I'm not sure how I feel about this yet. I'm not sure what the outcome will be. It's a test run. We'll see how it goes. It's just like when I was going through all my boxes. I threw so much stuff out... even stuff that I knew someday I would miss, but that I also knew I just didn't need anymore. Life is weird. If we kept everything that we knew we would miss we'd have no where to move. I guess separation is a part of life sometimes and we have to move forward and leave things behind. It's scary that it's becoming so logical all of a sudden when a year and a half ago I could scarcely think about stuff like that without crippling myself with tears.

Life is strange.

Well, work to do... Thank the lords it's friday except they decide to tell me TODAY that there's a release tomorrow... good thing I only have one change that can be put in ahead of time... jerks. Someday I'm going to have to screw them because they don't tell me these things. And oddly enough, it won't even be on purpose or spitefully.

byes all... have a great weekend!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!