Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:48 a.m. - 2002-06-06
Surreal
112 miles per hour

My car is very light at that speed. I could feel it blowing around in the wind that was pushing it's way across the highway. It was somewhat freaky, but just so cool that I just kept it there for a while, just to feel the sway, and then I brought it back down to 100.

I didn't drive for the freedom. I wasn't driving for the thrill of speed. I was driving to get home. It was late. I should have been in bed already, but I wasn't able to be. I was afraid He'd be sleeping already and that I wouldn't get to talk to Him before we fell asleep but He was awake and we had cheesecake together.

The experience of going 112 while driving on my own was surreal. It was like everything inside the car was moving in slow motion but the outside world was just whipping by at light speed. The bridge overpass was a blur. The cars I passed barely looked like they were moving. It was like I was dreaming in fast forward but was strapped to my bed.

I wondered about taking it faster... putting it into manual and pushing the limits. But that would have not been for the purposes of faster travel, THAT would have been for the thrill. At that hour, after a long frustrating day at work, I just didn't trust myself and it was probably rightfully so.

Overall... it didn't make my blood rush. Perhaps I was too tired.

I didn't have any specific thoughts in my head. I was definately too tired.

I was safely strapped in and there were but four cars on the entire stretch where I zoomed past. Thankfully none were cops.

I'm alive, well, and none-the-different for my experience, except for the memory of my car floating and dancing in the wind...

It was just surreal.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!